Oh, the wonderous works of the Lord

Richmond forecast: Sunny 85 degrees. 11mph breeze. No clouds in sight. Beautiful, clear September sky. Oh, what to do…
Well, if you are a nursing student, the answer is STUDY! 🙂 So, I was at my favorite sunny-day study place (Belle Isle) studying Normal Pregnancy. Now, you have to understand something – I have seen a “normal pregnancy” eight times. Yup, six awesome siblings and two beautiful nieces. Needless to say, I thought I had seen it all.

I was wrong, but in the way I expected…

For the past two semesters (has it been that short??), I have had med-surg training exclusively. In English, that translates to me being on a general admission floor and getting a little taste of everything: post-op, pneumonia, back pain, cancer, seizures – you name it! Throughout NUR 111 and 112, I’ve been taught to assess the physical aspects of the patient. Is he stable? What would I expect to find if he was getting worse? What are the “warning signs” for his condition? Though the emotional, spiritual, and psychological aspect of nursing was touched on in my intro classes, I never got any hands-on experience with it. I never saw nurses be that concerned with their patients to ask how they were adjusting to life without a limb, how this chronic illness was affecting their family relationships, etc. You go in, take vital signs, assess, and document.

Until Maternity Nursing.

As I’m reading my textbook to prepare for the next exam, I am trying to grasp the emotional aspects of pregnancy. Entire sections of these chapters are devoted to explaining what emotions, reactions, and psychological changes are occurring with these pregnant women. I had no idea being pregnant was such a huge crisis! Sure, there are things that make it harder for others, like no support system, an unplanned pregnancy, financial instability, etc. But as a nurse with a pregnant woman, I am expected to assess her physically AND emotionally. Is she depressed? How is she dealing with the stress of the pregnancy? What has been her partner’s reaction?

In NUR 111, I was told the nurse has several roles: advocate, teacher, counselor, leader, resource. I have experience of being the advocate and teacher. However, I have never had to be a counselor, a “shrink”, hoping the patient will have enough trust in me to share her emotional concerns about her life as it is changing almost out of control.

I realize this post is long, so I will begin wrapping it up.
This summer, God asked me to trust in Him. He took my heart and tested it by fire and tribulation. I have finally found the peace of mind and spirit in trusting His Will, knowing that whatever it is, it is good.
For at least this 8 week class, I am going to have to try and wrap my head around the different roles I will now play, and how to balance each part.

To God be the glory, praise and honor! May I be continued to be molded and refined to make all men give that praise and honor to Him who works through me!

Leave a Reply

