The Running dilemma

So, David and I moved in January to a new(er) two-bedroom apartment in northern Mechanicsville right where I295 meets I95. Its a bigger apartment by just over 200 sq. feet than our other place, which is soooooooo nice! I finally have an actual office that I can work in! 🙂 I have a bigger kitchen, a spacious living room, and an actual room to put my friend Lis Pajic when she stays the night! (She was a trooper and slept on my two-seater couch almost every week last semester) All in all, I’m very glad we moved. There is just one little problem…

I can’t run.

Okay, yes I can run. The problem is I have to go find a park, neighborhood, or road that is runner-friendly. Just as a tip, Rt. 301 and Shady Grove Road are NOT runner friendly. This is a problem because on top of trying to find motivation to get out the door and run, now I have to drive somewhere that will let me run without being turned into roadkill!

I have been able to find a few, momentary solutions. I found a sidewalk on the side of Broad Street right next to Red Robin that can become a 3 mile run. Downside – the sidewalk is cement, which is really bad to run on. 😦 I also got in a 3 mile run at the J Sarg Parham campus today after my Microbiology class! Bad news: I have to run around the perimeter of almost every single parking lot twice to get to those precious 3 miles.

While getting in 3 mile runs here and there is fine and dandy, I’m supposed to be running a half marathon in May. That’s 13.1 miles about 12 weeks from now. I’m supposed to be up to running 6 straight miles in 3 1/2 weeks. I’m still not sure 1) where I’ll find the time to locate 6 miles that won’t get me killed by a moving vehicle, and 2) how to fit in the driving/running/driving time into my school, study, and work schedule. Lord willing, I will be able to get most of my big runs accomplished in the city during NUR 207. 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Running dilemma

Leave a Reply

