Faith the size of a mustard seed

If someone were to ask me what is the one thing they can do to do well in nursing school, I shall respond with one syllable: PRAY!

It is a lesson I seem to need to repeat over and over again. But thanks be a great and loving Father who forgives His children when they stray! When I start a new class, I can quickly become overwhelmed with the amount of information and studying that is required. It is so easy for us to get all caught up in the here and now of our lives. I think in our society especially there is this mentality that I, for one, have bought into: “I have to get this done NOW! I can’t ask for help, there is nothing for anyone else to do. I’ve got this. If I just work a little harder, then I’ll succeed.” Sound familiar? Once I’ve been immersed in that mentality, which happens oh so subtly thanks to the devil, something happens that reminds me that I’m not on my own, that I do have a loving Savior who is willing and ready to save me from myself.

So, hopefully I have learned my lesson (yet again!) for a little while. I pray as I prepare for graduation and entering the workforce that I do not forget so quickly! But, if I do, I trust that the Lord will once again pull me back to Himself. I know He has a lot of work left to do in me, but I trust that He will not so quickly let me go!

Leave a Reply

