Do not underestimate the power of a clean house!

For the past 8 weeks, my house has been a disaster zone. I have been unable to study at home because 1) there was clutter everywhere and no space for me to spread out and study, and 2) the constant clutter distracted me from being able to study. If there is junk everywhere, I have this compulsion to clean, which is not very conducive for sitting still and studying. So, last Wednesday, I vented nervous energy and picked up most of my house whilst anxiously awaiting the posting of my final grade for Peds. When the grade was finally posted, my cleaning went from venting to celebratory! 🙂

The next day, I went to the dentist for a root canal and 4 wisdom teeth extractions. I realize this is not exactly celebratory, but it was the only day that would leave me enough recovery time. For the next three days, I did absolutely nothing except pop pain pills, lay on the couch, drinking smoothies, and sleep. It was heavenly. By Monday, my chipmunk cheeks decreased so much that I no longer felt the need for the constant ice packs. This greatly improved my mobility, and I spent all of Monday and Tuesday cleaning my house! It was amazing… 🙂 My bathroom is clean, I can see the wood on my dining room table, the dishes are washed and put away, and my kitchen sink is sparkling clean! I’ve been able to make yogurt, bread, dinner, and even fit in time to sell some textbooks and watch my new favorite TV show Chuck. This break has truly been a much-needed vacation!

In 13 days, I shall be swallowed whole by NUR 208 – Acute Medical Surgical Nursing. But, between now and then, I have a race to run, two weddings to attend, and my husband’s graduation! 🙂 I will read and study my textbook some during this break to hopefully give me a head start for my coming class, but it shall not own my time. I thank God for blessing this break thus far, and I intend to use it with my newly-graduated husband, my friends, and family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

