IT’S OVER!!!!!!!!!

That’s right – I’M A GRADUATE NURSING STUDENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Honestly, I never thought this day would come. It kinda came out of nowhere! Up until a week before the final, I had already been counting on taking this class again in the fall. But, after 5 straight days of studying for the last unit test as well as the cumulative final (and waiting almost 3 days for the final grades to be posted!), I am very pleased and excited to give praise and glory to God for His graciousness, mercies, and strength for GRADUATING!!!!!!!!! Oh, but not only that – I passed NUR 208 with a B!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have been praying for a C all semester (motto for NUR 208: C=passing), but thanks to instructor/Dean review of tests + adding lots of points = a B in the course!

I still don’t think it’s hit me yet. No stressing over a test?!?! I have time to relax?!? What IS that word, anyways? To illustrate, the day after taking my final, I was so confused by that five letter word that I went to my pool and read my old Maternity notes (as part of my “relaxing” afternoon). I also brought those notes this past weekend to the OBX beach! After all, I need to study for state boards! 🙂 My poor husband…

I just need to say thank you to EVERYONE who follows this blog who has put up with all my chaotic posts for the past 1 1/2 years! It has been the most amazing, stressful, life-changing journey I’ve been on yet! I could not have done it without all your prayers and encouragements, or my best friend Sarah Rescigno Perry! I met her in NUR 111, she was my lifesaver in NUR 112, she cried with joy at the news of my pregnancy in NUR 206 (Maternity), cried with sorrow over my miscarriage in NUR 204 (Psych), helped my work through the emotional struggles of NUR 207 (Peds), and was my best study partner for NUR 208!!! I’ve seen her grow, struggle, and get married – all in one class! It has been a very difficult program, but I can’t help but give thanks to God for the most gracious blessing in putting Sarah into my life at the most perfect time!

So, what’s next?
I must take state boards (NCLEX) to become an official RN. I will take a review course by Kaplan to help me prepare for the NCLEX test as well as go over study questions. Virginia is great because I can apply for jobs and work as an RN even before I take NCLEX, as long as I have proof that I’ve applied for my Virginia license. So, I will be applying to Bon Secours, HCA, and MCV hospitals and hoping for a job in the next few weeks. At this point, I’m waiting for my transcripts to be sent, waiting to take the Kaplan review course, and waiting to schedule my boards exam.

So yes, my journey as a nursing student through J. Sargaent Reynolds is over. However, my journey is not yet complete! I’ve already applied to Liberty University Online for my BSN. It is a 1 1/2 year program – all online – to get my Bachelor’s. Once I get my BSN, I will apply to VCU to get my Masters and become an Nurse Practitioner! To be honest, I don’t know if I will ever NOT be a nursing student. Learning is a lifelong process, especially in the ever-changing healthcare field. I’ve learned so much since starting this program, but if anything, I know I’ll keep learning throughout my entire career. I know that my formal education is still at least another 3 years more, but I am excited that the first phase is complete! I can’t wait to see what the Lord has in store…

One thought on “IT’S OVER!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

