Consistency

As this is the first blog post for 2013, I thought it would be appropriate to discuss goals for the new year.  I think this is about the month when the gym is a bit emptier than it was for the whole of January, and many people have either given up or forgotten their resolutions.  I did set some goals for this new year, but a couple bouts of bronchitis and the flu made me lose my motivation.  I’m steadily working on finding it again, and thought I’d share them here:

1.  I want to run a half marathon under 2 hours.  I’ve run 3 half marathons – one each year since 2010 – but they have always been over 2 hours.  I am registered to run the Shamrock Half in VA Beach on St. Patrick’s day, but being sick twice and working 12hr shifts has delayed my training quite a bit.

2.  I want to finish a marathon.  And why would anyone want to subject themselves to torture for 26.2 miles, and probably at least 4 hours of continuous running?  For a bumper sticker, a charm for my bracelet, and just to say, “I did it!”  🙂  I’m aiming for the Richmond Marathon in November because it is very close to home and I won’t have the stress of travel to add to the race-day anxiety.

3.  Just as a side challenge I added, I want to run 1,000 miles by December 31, 2013, which averages about 20 miles per week.  It’s a challenge I signed up for on DailyMile.com, a website I use as my training journal.  So far, I’m quite behind because I ran only twice in January.  But fortunately, I have the whole year to make up for it!  And if I do go into marathon training, I’m sure to recover those lost miles.

As I was contemplating these goals while getting Cole ready for bed, it occurred to me that each resolution is working towards something – consistency.  My running has never been truly consistent.  I have an awful tendency to register for races, not train properly, and then run the race against all the protests and forebodings of my family.  The fact that I’ve never been really injured by doing such doesn’t help much in breaking this habit.  There have been a few times where I did actually train, which led me to shave ten minutes off my 10K time and set a Personal Record (PR).  I love how I feel after every run, but I’ve found it can be such a challenge to find the time while balancing so many responsibilities.

Hence my buzz word for 2013: Consistency.  The more I contemplate that word, the more I see additional applications.  I want to be consistent with my running.  I want to be consistent in finding time to spend with just me and David.  I want to be consistent in my parenting and discipline with Cole (yes, that has already started).  I want to be consistent in spending time in the Word and in prayer.  I want to be consistent in making time for family worship in the evenings.

Is there an area of your life where you need to be more consistent?  Or do you have a different buzz word for 2013?

Leave a Reply

