"Just keep swimming, just keep swimming…"

Disclaimer:  I’ve had only 4 hrs of sleep.

Yes, I worked last night.  It was the only thing standing between me and 3 days of blissful escape with Hubby and Little Man to Virginia Beach and Williamsburg.  And yes, “blissful escape” does entail running a half marathon on Sunday.  🙂

A co-worker of mine mentioned she has read my blog and saw I’ve been looking for other positions.  It’s true; I’d really like to leave med-surg.  Our floor has had an especially difficult time the last few months.  We’ve had quite a few nurses leave, including one of our most experienced floor nurses.  It’s been quite a blow for the remaining staff, especially because our census (and patient acuity level) has been up and we are now working short-staffed.  This means we work in “emergency nurse mode”; do what we can, complete tasks leftover from the shift before, pass on things we weren’t able to do, and try to leave all our patients stable and breathing by the end of our shift.

As with the seasons of life, there are seasons – however long or brief they may seem – in nursing.  Every nurse goes through “emergency nursing” at some point in their careers. I just happen to be going through it right at the beginning of my career.

I have put in multiple applications to transfer.  I have not heard anything back.  I emailed the Labor and Delivery manager to let her know I was especially interested in that position.  Though she did email me back, it was to say the positions had already been filled.  😦  However, there might be two more positions available this summer.  I have not heard anything else from anywhere.  That could mean two things.  One: I’m not pushing hard enough to transfer out.  Two: it is not in the Lord’s plan for me to leave 2 North.  I’m not going to lie; I have way more confidence in my nursing experience to know when I need to try before calling the doctor, what to tell a patient about their plan of care, and where to look for good veins for lab draws.  However, I’m far from comfortable in my experience alone.  I feel like I still ask a lot of questions and for a lot of help throughout my shift.  I’ve lately felt very stressed and frazzled when morning report comes around.

While I really want to move and find my niche in nursing, I don’t think that’s in the Lord’s plan at this time.  And that’s okay.  I’m not thrilled with that, but I’m not going to stress it anymore.  ‘”For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future”‘ (Jer. 29:11) has become my motto of late.  I trust in His timing, and I will make the most of my time on 2 North by continuing to learn as much as I can so that I can be the best nurse I can be. 

Leave a Reply

