It is finished

Last weekend, I received a piece of paper that I have been working so hard for over the past 3 years.
 
Yup, my second and most important college diploma!  I can now put “RN, BSN” after my name!
When I graduated from nursing school with my Associate’s degree, I felt like the first leg of my journey was done.  I passed the state nursing board exam with flying colors and immediately signed up for my first undergraduate nursing class.  In my head, getting my RN license was the first step.  Getting my BSN was the next step, with the final goal of one day achieving my MSN.  So, 2 jobs, 2 kids, and 3 years later, and I not only have completed my BSN, but I did it Summa Cum Laude!  🙂   The relief of actually, finally being able to say, “It is finished” was incredible.  I never had that feeling when I finished nursing school to get my RN, which was way harder than these last 3 years.
So, what now?  Well, I don’t think that MSN is in my near future.  With a big move to a new city swiftly approaching and two very small children, I think I need some time away from the stress of discussion board threads and 7-page paper deadlines.
However, I’m not quite through with studying.  Within the next 5 years, I would like to combine my nursing knowledge and passion for community health with my love for fitness, health, and running.  So, I am going to pursue becoming certified through the American Council of Exercise (ACE) to become either a Group Fitness Instructor and/or a Personal Trainer.  In the next 5 years, I would also like to become a running coach.  I’m still trying to figure out how to practically combine my two loves (nursing and fitness), but I excited about what the future holds.
So, on to the next challenge!
Leave a Reply

