Returning to basics

The last 2 months have been rough. Winter in Virginia is very unpredictable and occasionally brutal (for us. We don’t do snow). Plus my health had gone through taken me on an emotional roller coaster. Thankfully, and praise God, I’ve finally started feeling normal. In fact, I’ve actually felt truly happy!

With the warmer weather swiftly approaching, I am trying (once again) to get my running back on track. I did not have any chance of meeting my goal of a sub-50 minute 10k this year at Monument, and that’s ok. Instead, I got to share one of my favorite races with one of my brothers! But I would really like to have another sub-2 hour half marathon. Unfortunately, the only half I have on my schedule is the Historic Half, which is very hilly. My best time was 2:15, but I didn’t train very well (aka hardly at all).

Enter The Plan: to run 3 times per week – a long run, a tempo, and speed work based on Run Less, Run Faster– in addition to strength training twice a week at home and trying to get in one cross training workout per week.

shopping

For added accountability, I will post a recap of my week here: what I was supposed to do, what I actually did, what tweaks are needed.

So, here is my plan for this week:
8 mi long run
1mi easy, 5 mi tempo, 1mi easy
Pyramid speedwork – 400m, 600m, 800m, 1200m, 800m, 600m, 400m (400m recovery interval [RI])
XT (cross-training) Rowing workout: 8min easy, 10min tempo, 5min easy

Strength train 2 days.

One thought on “Returning to basics

Leave a Reply

