Overnight oats

I love breakfast foods.  Pancakes, waffles, eggs, muffins, turkey bacon, oatmeal, cold cereal, Greek yogurts with granola, fresh fruit, French toast…  So many options!  And that’s just the problem.

I am not an early bird, so making a decision on what’s for breakfast is the last thing I want to think about at 7:30am when Little Man is asking me very politely to “cween my poop” as he sits on his toilet and Baby Thunder is yelling at me from his crib after waking up 3 times last night.  Because all three of us need food, and I desperately need coffee and a shower.

Enter Overnight Oats!

Seriously, this stuff is my absolute favorite food!  I prep them the night before, throw it in the fridge, and just grab a jar in the morning.  They are especially perfect for mornings on-the-go, like those early doctor’s appointments or Sunday morning.  And if I want a little variety, I just change the mix-ins.  Still so many options!  🙂

wpid-20150413_161446.jpg
Overnight Oats, waiting to go

Place the following in a pint Mason jar:
1/2 cup old fashioned rolled oats (NOT quick cooking oats)
1 tablespoon chia seeds
1 tablespoon milled flax seeds (optional)

The night before, add:
1 cup milk (cow or otherwise) OR 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup Greek yogurt (I use homemade yogurt, more on that next week)
Sweetener – banana, blueberries, raspberry jam, strawberries, honey, etc etc
Nut butter (for healthy fat) – Peanut butter, almond butter, Justin’s Nut Butter.

Shake really well to combine everything, and then stick in the fridge.

10906538_10153057310551162_7920003982766916186_n
Mixed up and ready to go in the fridge

In the morning, just grab a jar and a spoon, and enjoy!  It may seem kind of weird to eat cold oatmeal, but I prefer this to regular cooked oatmeal.  I used to try to eat cooked oatmeal most mornings, especially in the winter, but I would make so much that I couldn’t eat all of it but still be hungry 2 hours later.  These little jars somehow keep me filled from the time I wake up until lunch time.  And how about this for a healthy start to your day?  Omega-3’s from the chia seeds and flax seeds, oatmeal to help lower your cholesterol, a serving of fruit, and healthy fats and protein to keep you full and energized until lunchtime!

And if that isn’t enough to convince you, get this – my 2 1/2 year old asks for this every single morning, and eats the whole thing!
Mommy score!

If you try this and love it, check out the meal plans from Be Mom Strong!  This recipe came from her.

One thought on “Overnight oats

Leave a Reply

