June’s training plan

I am registered for the Columbus Marathon on October 17th. My goal is to Boston qualify, does that mean I need to run a 3:35 or better. My PR (my first and thus far only marathon to date) is 3:49, so I have that 19 minutes to shave off. I think it’s doable. I’m much stronger now then I was 2 years ago, thanks to pushing nearly a hundred pounds of stroller and testosterone on most runs. Now that I have a gym membership, I’m really going to try to follow the 3plus2 training plan, also known as Run Les, Run Faster. I’m going to follow that formula / training plan for the next 5 weeks while we remain in Virginia (so short!!!), and marathon training in earnest once we move to Columbus.

shopping

I really want this next training season to be about overall fitness to make me a stronger, faster runner.  I’ve become more aware of my running form and how one side of my body is stronger than the other, and the risk of injury this causes.

wpid-2015-04-11-20.21.02.jpg.jpeg

As such, the month of June is going to be focusing on building my running base back up and cross- and strength-training.  Here’s is the plan:

Week 1:
Track – 4 x 800m with 2 min recovery
Tempo – 5mi at marathon pace, with a 1mi warm up and cool down
Long run – 9mi at marathon pace + 45 seconds

Week 2:
Track – 1200m, 1000m, 800m, 600m, 400m with 200m recovery
Tempo – 5mi at long tempo, with 1mi warm up and cool down
Long run – 10mi at marathon pace + 45 seconds

Week 3:
Track – 3 x 1600m with 400m recovery
Tempo – 2mi warm up,  3mi short tempo pace, 2mi cool down
Long run – 12mi at marathon pace + 45 seconds

Week 4:
Track – 2 x 1200m with 2 min recovery, 4 x 800m with 2 min recovery
Tempo – 5mi at moderate tempo, with 1mi warm up and cool down
Long run – 14mi at marathon pace + 45 seconds

Each week, I’m going to go to the gym for the following classes (assuming the app is right regarding times):

Monday 4:15 AND/OR Tuesday 9:15 Barre
Tuesday 5:30 Cycle
Friday 9:15 Cycle Fusion

I might throw in a yoga class as well, but I’m really planning on keeping to this schedule.

This plan takes me to June 28, which is the week that we are tentatively scheduled to move to Ohio, so my running will probably take a back seat.  The following weekend is July 4th, so I’m going to find a 5k or 10k race in the Columbus area.  This will 1) be my first race in Ohio, and 2) establish my fitness level to help me set a realistic time and training goal for the marathon training.  The Run Less, Run Faster training theory is based on running three key runs at specific paces.  Those specific paces are determined by a recent 5k time or equivalent.  I’m hoping my month of fitness focus will pay off with a good time!  I’d really like to Boston Qualify this year, but I’m trying not to cement my hopes on that.

We have a lot of changes coming up, and I want to accept and be content with where I am – physically, spiritually, and emotionally.

Leave a Reply

