National Running Day!

Today, June 3, is one of the best days of the year.  Why, you ask?

It’s National Running Day!!!

Here are some of my reasons for running:

blank-logo
You know who you are…
crazy
I mean, who doesn’t? 🙂

I have to admit, I wasn’t feeling terribly motivated to run this morning.  I was tired, it’s kind of a nasty day here, and I just wanted to be lazy.

Not exactly enjoyable running weather, in my opinion.
Not exactly enjoyable running weather, in my opinion.

But, I saw a lot of people posting on Facebook about the runs they had done today, and I knew I had no excuse.  So, I got changed and loaded the boys up in the stroller with the rain shield.

wpid-20150603_114831.jpgPhases of running today:
1.  Warm up mile.  It just looks overcast and nasty.
2.  Picking up the pace.  Starting to sprinkle.

wpid-20150603_115618.jpg
3.  Tackling the second hill loop.  Really starting to rain now.
4.  On the way home.  Rain is really coming down!  It’s starting to drip off of my hat with every step.

wpid-20150603_125237.jpg

So by the time we get home, I’m looking and feeling like a drowned rat.  But, thanks to my awesome BoB Weather Shield, my boys are dry as toast!  🙂  Except Little Man’s hands, which kept sticking out the side so he could feel the rain.

I like National Running Day because it’s an excuse to ponder why running is so important to me.  I can think of so many reasons!  The endorphin high after completing a great workout, crushing lofty goals and perceived limits, establishing an active lifestyle with/for my family, the sculpted legs, the community of runners everywhere… the list goes on and on!  I am so proud to call myself a runner, and to be a part of the most welcoming athletic communities in the world!

Happy running, y’all!

Why do you run?  Answer the question by filling in the blank:

blank-logo

Leave a Reply

