June: Week 2 Training

Week 2’s plan:
Track – 1200m, 1000m, 800m, 600m, 400m with 200m recovery
Tempo – 5mi at long tempo, with 1mi warm up and cool down
Long run – 10mi at marathon pace + 45 seconds

What I actually did…
Monday – my day consisted of beaching.  I have been dying to go to a beach ever since the weather became warm and I realized that my quick access to the salty water is about to vanish.  So, after 3 reschedules, my brother Wo and his girlfriend spent Sunday night with us so we could leave “early” Monday morning (aka 10am) to go to Buckroe Beach in Hampton, VA.  I love that it’s only 1 hour and 15 minutes from me, is a clean beach, and has hardly any traffic!  The waves are pretty small, but it’s perfect for my kids.  Predictably, Little Man had no desire to go anywhere near the water and contented himself with playing in the sand, while Baby Thunder had a grand time splashing and kicking in the waves with me.  By the time we got home at 3pm, we were all exhausted.  My only workout consisted of swimming out twice to the designated buoy.  Swimming in open ocean water really made me feel out of shape!  I was panting by the time I reached the sand!

wpid-20150608_121442.jpg
Little Man, with my brother and his girlfriend
wpid-20150608_121321.jpg
Baby Thunder just loved the beach!

Tuesday – Little Man turns 3!  On one hand, it’s hard for me to believe that my firstborn baby is three years old…  And then the Terrible Threes tantrum begin again (which are way worse than his Terrible Twos), and I am convinced.

But, what did Little Man ask for his birthday?  An orange drum set.  *be still my heart*  My little drummer boy! Since we still don’t know where we are going to be living in Columbus (townhouse vs apartment vs house), we did NOT buy another drum kit.  Instead, we found some drum sticks that I painted orange.  And, I attempted to make an orange drum cake.  Unfortunately, I learned the hard way that buttercream frosting does not hold well and should not be left for last minute.  After much foot stamping, angry outbursts, and near tears on my part, I did manage to salvage the cake decoration.  At least, the 20 friends and family that celebrated with us told me it looked good.  🙂

wpid-20150609_194608.jpg
I think Little Man enjoyed his cake regardless
wpid-20150609_175418.jpg
The would-be drum cake

Wednesday – Recovery from a crazy weekend!!!  2 major parties in 4 days is a lot.  I don’t recommend it for future endeavors.  We stayed home, I cleaned, and Little Man threw another 30 minute tantrum in the Kroger parking lot.  C‘est la vie…  I’ll be happy when the screaming stage stops!

Thursday – I love having a mother runner nearby!  My friend MS ran with me this morning.  But please note the temperature:wpid-screenshot_2015-06-11-10-56-31.pngYes, it says 82, but the RealFeel is 97 degrees with a dew point of 72!  According to the Dew_Point_Chart I got from my Sportsbackers Marathon Training Team two years ago, a dew point of 70-74 is “very uncomfortable” with the expectation that your running pace will greatly suffer.  As such, I probably was pushing myself too hard on this 4.4 mile run and ended up having to walk several times and even lay down at one point.  I still feel like I’m not hydrating enough, even though I can drink 3 liters a day!  Either way, I will not be running at 10AM in future!  Though it will be interesting to see how Columbus’ summers compare to Virginia…

Friday – Cycle Fusion class at the Y.  I really need to start double checking schedules, because I showed up at the previous time of 9:15, only to realize that it started at 9am.  *headslap*  Thankfully Emma was gracious and let me jump in.  I’m going to feel those tabata rounds in my legs tomorrow!!

Saturday – Long run! 9.27 miles in 1:28:50, averaging a 9:35 min/mi pace. When I finished just before 9am, the weather was 83 F with a RealFeel of 91; humidity was only 67% with a dew point of 71 degrees. It was so thick when we started this morning at 7am, me and my BRF (best running friend). We kept the pace conversational, but still had to walk a few times due to the heat. Towards the end of the run, the humidity seemed to ease somewhat which left us feeling strong for the finish. We both had tired legs from the cycling class yesterday. Overall, I’m really pleased with this run. So glad to bounce back from that dreadful run on Thursday.

Sunday – Resting, aka more packing!

Leave a Reply

