It’s so hard…

… to say goodbye.

I really hate them. I don’t think I’m very good at them. I’d much rather slip quietly out, unnoticed. But when you have lived in a place for 6 years, you make a lot of friends and acquaintances. Which makes it even harder to say goodbye.

But sadly, this is farewell. After discussing details with Hubby for a few hours today, we finally nailed down our time frame for the next 5 days. Wow, writing that makes it seem so short! And yes, we will be loading our moving truck and cleaning next Thursday and moving away next Friday.

Though I know this farewell is not forever, there is some finality to it. When I come back, it will only be to visit. Even if I do manage to come back to live here, I will have changed; everyone I know will have changed.

Somewhere deep down, I am excited for this new chapter of life for me and my family. It is exciting and different and full of change and adventure. At some point, that excitement will show itself.  But right now, I’m trying to hold it together. There is still lots of packing to do, stuff to chuck, and yes, goodbyes to say. I’m sure the grief will hit me hard on either Thursday or Friday next week; possibly as I drive past Richmond and Fredericksburg for the last time as a Virginia resident.

But, who knows what the Lord has in store for us! I will take comfort  in Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.”

Leave a Reply

