June: Week 3 training

I am pleased to say that I completed every workout this week, with some modifications!  🙂  Here’s what I was supposed to do:
Week 3:
Track – 3 x 1600m with 400m recovery
Tempo – 2mi warm up,  3mi short tempo pace, 2mi cool down
Long run – 12mi at marathon pace + 45 seconds

Here was my week.

Monday – 5.5mi in 55 minutes, avg 9:54min/mi pace.  Last stroller run with my buddy Melanie, until July.  The run was tough with the dew point at 71 and a temp of 75 at 7:30am.  We ran our favorite hills, chatted, sweated, and just tried to enjoy our last run together for a while.

wpid-20150615_082656.jpg
This woman has been my Godsend these last 6 months, and I can’t wait until we see each other again in July!

I also took a Barre class this late afternoon.

Tuesday – I went to the gym for my own cross training cycling workout; 10 min easy, 30 min tempo according to book Run Less, Run Faster, but I only did 5 min easy.  I get impatient.  🙂

Wednesday – track day!  Did a 10 min warm up with about 5 min easy running followed by 100m carioca both sides, then 2x100m butt kicks and high knees with strides.  The workout: Reverse ladder of 1200m, 1000m, 800m, 600m, 400m with 200m recovery. I was supposed to do 3 x mile repeats, but I didn’t feel like it.  So, I did the speed workout from last week instead.  Times were: 5:12, 4:15, 3:22, 2:27, and 1:34; paces were 6:57, 6:52, 6:45, 6:40, and 6:19. I really wanted to give it my all on that last set.   Finished with an 8min cool down easy running.

Thursday – finally some rest!  🙂  Which really means packing some more…

Friday – Cross training cycling workout #2: 5 min easy, 3 x (5 min tempo, 1 min easy), 5 min easy.  11376338_406107539581961_1403506959_n

Saturday – long run day.  I decided to do 11 miles instead of 12 because I had missed my long runs the last few weeks and I didn’t want to push it too much.  Since my running buddy was out of town, I put out a request on Facebook for someone to join me for some part of my 11 miler.  And I got a bite!  Drew, a runner I met years ago with one of the Richmond Road Runner’s Club groups, joined me for the first 6.6 miles.  It was another hot, humid, sticky, energy-sapping morning, but we did it.  After I dropped him off at CrossFit Addict for him to finish his workout, I turned on Harry Potter and ate a Health Warrior Chia bar and refilled my Camelbak.  I still felt kind of dead when I started running again, so I ate one of my homemade date, coconut oil, and green tea gel between miles 7-8.  I started feeling my second wind around mile 8.8, so I kicked it up and finished feeling strong.  11330639_751634904937247_716240516_nSunday – Resting on Father’s day!  We took Hubby out to eat at Jack Brown’s Burgers and Beers (at the recommendation of two friends) and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Since we will be moving on Thursday and Friday this week, my posting will be as limited as my runs.  I’m going to try and get as many runs in as possible just for sanity’s sake, but will probably be missing a few long runs.  We plan on getting into Columbus on Saturday morning/afternoon and will begin the unloading/unpacking.

So long for now!  Next time I post, I will probably be in Ohio!

Leave a Reply

