Commit to a Fit Pregnancy

There is one training principle that I firmly believe in.

A training plan is a guide, not a hard-set rulebook.  When Life happens – family responsibilities, emergencies, illness, or injuries – sometimes you have to roll with the punches and deal with the situation before turning your attention back to running.  Sometimes you can pick up right where you left off.  For instance, I had kept up with my training prior to my Dad’s accident, so I was able to easily make the jump from an 8mi long run to 10 miles.  Other times, such as with an injury or something more life changing (like having a baby!) requires completely re-evaluating your goals.

I don’t know if it’s because I recently discovered I was growing another human or because I hit the magic second month of fatigue nausea pregnancy, but I felt like I had been run over by a truck this week.  As a result, my entire workout plans have gone up in smoke.  I was finally able to make it to a Barre class this Thursday and get an 8 mile run in this weekend, but that’s about the extent of my exercise this past week.

Not anymore!  I have discovered that I tend to have more energy in the mornings (and by mornings I mean 10am), so I’m going to start planning my runs then.  A few fitness classes I like, specifically BodyPump and Barre, are in the evenings, so I’ll just have to drag my little butt out the door for those.  🙂  But I am determined that third time is the charm – this will be my fittest pregnancy of all!  And, I’ll have a little help!

If you look on the sidebar of this blog, you will see a new badge – For Two Fitness Ambassador!  I am so excited to be representing this brand and promoting fitness during pregnancy!  They make adorable workout shirts and great capris – all designed for pregnancy!  Do you know how hard it is to find maternity workout clothes?  Especially in those last few months?  I got this shirt when I was pregnant with Drama Prince, and wore it up until my last yoga class at 38 weeks.  Plus since I was pregnant in the height of summer, I wore that shirt at every possible opportunity.  And the best part (in my humble opinion) – the sayings on the shirts!  Everything from “Training for Two” (which is what I’m wearing below and at the Emerald City Half Marathon), to “Body by Baby” to “Running for Two”, which is on my wishlist.

002-rbt-sph_1
Hint hint, my birthday is this month… 😀

Right now, they are having a Labor Day sale – 25% off all apparel!  Head on over to ForTwoFitness.com and check it out!  Because let’s admit it – you feel better when you look cute!  🙂  And everyone loves a sale…

Any other pregnant women out there?

Will you join me in committing this pregnancy and postpartum to being fit and healthy? 

Because yes, it is possible to be fit and pregnant!

11821910_848336158554735_1729330183_n
After my 8.5 mile run
Leave a Reply

