Sneaky veggies

Last week, I mentioned how Baby Blob does not like veggies.  I know my body is craving them, but the very thought of a zucchini or a leafy green (two of my favorites) makes me nauseated.  So, I’ve been wracking my brain trying to figure out a way to slip them into my diet without the hormones noticing.  It feels a lot like trying to sneak veggies to a picky toddler.  But last week, I had an epiphany while out running with fellow stroller mama Marion Hinkley.

gru-bulb

Smoothies!

I love smoothies, as long as it’s not 50 degrees outside.  I also discovered a few years ago that I really like adding spinach to my smoothies.  While it may turn them a rather unpleasant color (blue + green =… you do the math), I never noticed a different taste.  There are lots of documented benefits to spinach – good source of iron, vitamin K, antioxidants, folate, fiber, and magnesium, just to name a few.  All of those are especially beneficial for pregnancy!  So, it makes sense to include this powerhouse leaf into your life as much as possible.  For this pregnant lady, that means smoothies!  🙂

The above runner friend who shared this light bulb moment with me shared her spinach recipe with me.  I tweaked it a little bit based on what I had on hand, and it tasted amazing!

 

Spinach Mango smoothie
Makes 1 smoothie

3 cups baby spinach
1/2 cup Greek yogurt
1/2 cup milk
1 cup frozen mango
1 heaping tablespoon ground flaxseeds
1 heaping tablespoon creamy peanut butter

Blend together until smooth.  Add more milk for a thinner consistency.

list of ingredients
List of ingredients

 

Pre-blend
Pre-blend

 

Blended until smooth and drinkable!
Blended until smooth and drinkable!

 

Drink to your health!
Drink to your health!

 

Share your favorite smoothie recipes with me!
How do you sneak veggies into your diet?

Leave a Reply

